October 18, 2018 – New Yorkers Against Gun Violence announced its state office candidate endorsements for elections being held on November 6, 2018. Each candidate has made a strong commitment to policies that reduce gun violence and help protect New York communities. NYAGV considered each candidate’s response to NYAGV’s candidate questionnaire, support for gun violence prevention legislation, and voting record, if applicable.

Rebecca Fischer, NYAGV Executive Director, stated, “New York State has saved lives by enacting strong gun laws but we still have work to do to protect our families and communities.  We need lawmakers who will advance life-saving gun violence prevention policies to close gaps that remain in our state law.   We endorse these candidates because they have demonstrated that they have the leadership to stand up to the gun lobby and politicians who have blocked sensible gun safety legislation.  We urge New Yorkers to vote for these candidates on November 6th.”

NYAGV endorses the following candidates:

Governor:  Andrew Cuomo

Lieutenant Governor: Kathy Hochul

Attorney General: Letitia James

State Comptroller: Tom DiNapoli

State Senate

D-2   Kathleen Cleary D-20  Zellnor Myrie D-37  Shelley Mayer
D-3   Monica Martinez D-21  Kevin Parker D-38  David Carlucci
D-4   Lou D’Amaro D-22  Andrew Gounardes D-39  James Skoufis
D-5   James Gaughran D-23  Diane Savino D-40  Peter Harckham
D-6   Kevin Thomas D-25  Velmanette Montgomery D-41  Karen Smythe
D-7   Anna Kaplan D-26  Brian Kavanagh D-42  Jen Metzger
D-8   John Brooks D-27  Brad Hoylman D-44  Neil Breslin
D-9   Todd Kaminsky D-28  Liz Krueger D-46  Pat Strong
D-10  James Sanders D-29  Jose Serrano D-50  John Mannion
D-11  John Liu D-30  Brian Benjamin D-51  Joyce St. George
D-12  Michael Gianaris D-31  Robert Jackson D-53  Rachel May
D-13  Jessica Ramos D-32  Luis Sepulveda D-54  Kenan Baldridge
D-14  Leroy Comrie D-33  Gustavo Rivera D-55  Jen Lunsford
D-15  Joseph Addabbo D-34  Alessandra Biaggi D-56  Jeremy Cooney
D-16  Toby Ann Stavisky D-35  Andrea Stewart-Cousins D-60 Carima El-Bahairy
D-18  Julia Salazar D-36  Jamaal Bailey D-63 Timothy Kennedy
D-19  Roxanne Persaud

State Assembly

Please note: Assembly seat endorsements were only considered upon request from that district’s candidate.

D-9    Christine Pellegrino
D-13  Charles Lavine
D-14  Michael Reid
D-15  Allen Foley
D-16  Anthony D’Urso
D-18  Taylor Raynor
D-21  Judy Griffin
D-93  David Buchwald
D-146 Karen McMahon
D-149 Sean Ryan
D-141 Crystal Peoples-Stokes