Mass shooting map (Vox.com). Click to enlarge.

Another angry man with a gun. Another mass shooting. More innocent young lives lost.

President Obama, in his remarks yesterday on the mass shooting at Oregon’s Umpqua Community College, is correct in saying that change will come when the people demand it. We must demand that our elected officials act to stop the carnage by passing common sense federal gun laws. Close the loopholes on background checks that allow even criminals and terrorists to buy guns online and at gun shows. Ban assault weapons and high-caliber magazines that allow killers to cause carnage in mere seconds. Strengthen gun trafficking laws and its penalties.

But who are the elected officials voting with the NRA and against the safety of its citizens? Perhaps in his press conference, the President should have read the names of the Senators who voted no on background checks. Might they feel shame, just a bit?

Below are the names. Some have since left the Senate. But these are the Senators that voted against stronger criminal background checks in 2013, soon after the Sandy Hook massacre of 26 small children and educators. If they had the courage to vote yes, how many lives would have been saved?

Take action! 

No Votes (46)  on Background Checks, April 2013

Member Party State
Lamar Alexander R TN
Kelly Ayotte R NH
John Barrasso R WY
Max Baucus D MT
Mark Begich D AK
Roy Blunt R MO
John Boozman R AR
Richard M. Burr R NC
Saxby Chambliss R GA
Daniel Coats R IN
Tom Coburn R OK
Thad Cochran R MS
Bob Corker R TN
John Cornyn R TX
Michael D. Crapo R ID
Ted Cruz R TX
Michael B. Enzi R WY
Deb Fischer R NE
Jeff Flake R AZ
Lindsey Graham R SC
Charles E. Grassley R IA
Orrin G. Hatch R UT
Heidi Heitkamp D ND
Dean Heller R NV
John Hoeven R ND
James M. Inhofe R OK
Johnny Isakson R GA
Mike Johanns R NE
Ron Johnson R WI
Mike Lee R UT
Mitch McConnell R KY
Jerry Moran R KS
Lisa Murkowski R AK
Rand Paul R KY
Rob Portman R OH
Mark Pryor D AR
Harry Reid D NV
Jim Risch R ID
Pat Roberts R KS
Marco Rubio R FL
Tim Scott R SC
Jeff Sessions R AL
Richard C. Shelby R AL
John Thune R SD
David Vitter R LA
Roger Wicker R MS

(Full details on the 2013 vote here.)